What is the Marianist Social Justice Collaborative?

The Marianist Social Justice Collaborative (MSJC) began in 1998 as a means to promote education and action for social justice within the Marianist Family.

our story

Since our founding, we have continued to work for the following vision:

to educate the Marianist Family about social justice

to help Marianist Family members network around common social justice concerns

to serve as an advocate for a more just social order and a sustainable environment 

to provide community reflection and support for Marianists to do the work of justice in the world

Pauli Murray Film Discussion on December 8th

Join MSJC's LGBTQ+ Trans Advocacy Committee, Racial Justice Issue Team, and the Women & Justice Issue Team us for a virtual discussion on the many intersectional social justice themes highlighted in the My Name is Pauli Murray documentary. Participants should view the film prior to the event. Pauli Murray was a non-binary and Black lawyer, poet, and priest. Help us celebrate and honor their life on Thursday, December 8 at 7:30 PM ET | 6:30 PM CT | 5:30 PM MT | 4:30 PM PT! Register below. 

Join One of MSJC's Issue Teams!

What's New

A majority of MSJC's current issue teams are looking for new members to join their teams! We hope new volunteers will help our issue teams: 
  • Develop engaging programming to help Marianists commit to action on justice
  • Explore their gifts and become leaders for justice in the Marianist Family and Church 
If you are interested in learning more about becoming an issue team member, please reach out to us at our interest form below. 

MSJC Interest
Form

Pauli Murray Event
Registration

MSJC focuses on seven specific social justice issues. These issues are tackled by issue teams that plan yearly goals, create resources for Marianists to use, organize legislative support and outreach, work in collaboration with other justice-oriented organizations, and much more!


Our Issue Teams

Women & Justice

Learn more

Racial Justice

Learn more

LGBTQ+ Initiative

Learn more

Integral Ecology

Learn more

Immigrant Justice

Learn more

Death Penalty Abolition
and Restorative Justice

Learn more

Adele Social Justice

Young Adult Outreach

Learn more

Get Involved

Want to Sign up To receive Justice Jottings? 

November 2022

Justice Jottings Highlights

Advent Dreaming
Calendar

Racism, Death Penalty, Restorative Justice, and Black Catholic History

Resources

Want to Visit our archive of Justice JOttings issues?

Contact us

Reach out to let us know what you are thinking!

Have more questions?